Friday, 22 October 2010

2010 Nobel Prize - Mario Vargas Llosa

Mario Vargas LlosaMario Vargas Llosa, the Peruvian novelist, has been awarded the 2010 Nobel Prize in Literature. The academy honored him "for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual's resistance, revolt and defeat". The Nobel tends to be given as a lifetime achievement award — it goes to a writer, not to a particular work — and Vargas Llosa, 74, earned it with decades of critically acclaimed writing across literary genres. His works have been translated into 31 languages. In winning the Nobel, he joins an elite group of Latin American writers: Octavio Paz, Garcia Marquez, Gabriela Mistral and Pablo Neruda. Vargas Llosa’s next book is based on the life of Roger Casement. Faber plans to publish the book in English early in 2012. The title of the book, The Dream of the Celt, is taken from a line in one of Casement's own poems.

No comments: