Friday, 13 April 2012

International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award - Shortlist 2012

Ten novels have been shortlisted for the 2012 International IMPAC DUBLIN Literary Award, managed by Dublin City Libraries. The IMPAC DUBLIN Award is worth €100,000 and is the world’s most valuable annual literary award for a single work of fiction published in English. The ten novels have been shortlisted from a total of 147, nominated by 162 public library systems in 45 countries worldwide. At the recent announcement of the shortlist Margaret Hayes, Dublin City Librarian, said “All of these books have been warmly received and critically acclaimed. The issues they cover are serious and include war, the music industry, addiction, bereavement - loss of a son and of a limb, raising a Down Syndrome child, the devastating effect on children of neglect and perceived neglect, coming of age. There are however, plenty of moments of tenderness, humour and hope throughout.” The 2012 shortlist is a mix of well known writers such as Jennifer Egan and Jon McGregor, and new comers such as Jon Bauer and Karl Marlantes. Both Rocks in the Belly by Bauer and Matterhorn by Marlantes are first novels. The 2012 shortlist is truly international, including authors from Australia (Jon Bauer), Brazil (Cristovao Tezza), the USA (Jennifer Egan, Karl Marlantes and Willy Vlautin), Canada (David Bergen), Britain (Tim Pears, Animatta Forna and Jon McGregor) and Israel (Yishai Sarid). The two novels in translation are The Eternal Son by Cristavao Tezza, translated from Portuguese, and Limassol by Yishai Sarid, translated from Hebrew. Some of the shortlisted novels have already received awards. A Visit from the Goon Squad was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction 2011 and The Memory of Love received the 2011 Commonwealth Writers Prize. The winner which will be announced by the Lord Mayor of Dublin and Patron of the Award, Cllr. Andrew Montague on Wednesday, 13th June 2012.

The short listed titles are:
Rocks in the Belly by Jon Bauer
The Matter with Morris by David Bergen
A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
The Memory of Love by Animatta Forna
Even the Dogs by Jon McGregor
Matterhorn by Karl Marlantes
Landed by Tim Pears
Limassol by Yishai Sarid
The Eternal Son by Cristovão Tezza
Lean on Pete by Willy Vlautin

No comments: