Thursday, 24 November 2011

Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards – The Winners

How to be a Woman by Caitlin MoranA 40 minute programme of the highlights of the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards will be shown tonight, Thursday 24th November, at 10.45pm on RTE 1. The 10 category award winners were announced at a gala dinner on November 17th.

The winners are:
RTE Radio John Murray Show Listeners’ Choice Award:
How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran.
Hughes and Hughes Irish Novel of the Year:
Mistaken by Neil Jordan.
Ireland AM Crime Fiction Book of the Year:
Bloodland by Alan Glynn.
Eason Popular Fiction Book of the Year:
All for You by Sheila O’Flanagan.
Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year – Senior:
The Real Rebecca by Anna Carey.
Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year – Junior:
The Lonely Beast by Chris Judge.
International Education Services Best Irish-Published Book of the Year:
Connemara: a Little Gaelic Kingdom by Tim Robinson.
Argosy Irish Nonfiction Book of the Year:
Easy Meals by Rachel Allen.
Irish Sports Book of the Year:
Inside the Peloton by Nicholas Roche.
Sunday Independent Best Newcomer of the Year:
Solace by Belinda McKeon.
President Michael D Higgins graced the evening as Guest of Honour and presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to fellow poet Seamus Heaney. The Crannóg Bookshop carried off the Bord Gáis Energy Bookshop of the year award, with a prize of €5,000 worth of electricity from Bord Gáis. The public are being asked to vote for their favourite book of the year from the winners of each of the award categories. Voting closes at midnight on December 8th. Five lucky voters selected at random will each win €100 of National Book Tokens. Vote now on

No comments: