Tuesday, 22 April 2008

Shortlist announced by International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award

The shortlist has been announced for the 2008 IMPAC Award. Irish author Patrick McCabe’s Winterwood is on the eight-strong shortlist for the €100,000 prize. The others are De Niro’s Game by Rawi Hage; The Speed of Light by Javier Cercas; Dreams of Speaking by Gail Jones; The Woman Who Waited by Andrei Makine; The Attack by Yasmina Khadra; The Sweet and Simple Kind by Yasmine Gooneraratne and Let It Be Morning by Sayed Kashua. The award is the most valuable literary prize for a single work of fiction published in English. It is open to novels written in any language and by authors of any nationality, provided the work has been published in English or English translation. Nominations are submitted by library systems in major cities throughout the world. This year’s winner will be announced on June 12th.

No comments: