Friday 29 October 2010

Vote for your favourite Irish Book of 2010

Irish Book AwardsThe shortlist for the fifth Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards was announced on October 28th unveiling a typically eclectic range of titles including books by Colm Toibin, Joseph O’Connor, Sheila O’Flanagan, Cecelia Ahern, Ryan Tubridy, Shane Ross, Fintan O’Toole, Johnny Giles, Ruby Walsh, Derek Landy, John Boyne, newcomer Amy Huberman and children's author Sarah Webb. Established in 2006, the awards are dedicated to honouring Irish writers and Irish publishing. Extolling the virtues of the awards David Bunworth, MD at Bord Gáis Energy, commented "the new Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards is a fantastic event which celebrates the very best of Irish writing both at home and abroad. This year’s shortlist is a tribute to the talent and range that exists in Irish writing. It will be hard to choose one but I would encourage people to cast their vote and pick deserving winners.” From October 29th, the public are being asked to cast their vote on the best books of the last year via the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards website or by post on a form to be found in the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards Preview magazine. The preview magazines are available in public libraries and bookshops. Every person who votes will be in with a chance of winning one of five €100 National Book Token vouchers.

The award categories are the John Murray Show Listeners’ Choice Award; Hughes & Hughes Irish Novel of the Year; Ireland AM Crime Fiction Book of the Year; Eason Popular Fiction Book of the Year; IES Best Irish-published Book of the Year; Energise Sport Irish Sports Book of the Year; Newcomer of the Year; Argosy Irish Non-Fiction Book of the Year and the Dublin Airport Authority Irish Children’s Book of the Year – Junior and Senior Section. Voting takes place until November 21st with the winners announced at the Awards Dinner in the Mansion House on November 25th.

Click here for the full shortlist in categories...

No comments: