Monday 2 December 2013

Staring at Lakes - the Listeners’ Choice

Michael Harding’s Staring at Lakes: a Memoir of Love, Melancholy and Magical Thinking was announced winner of the RTÉ Radio 1’s The John Murray Show Listeners’ Choice Award at the 2013 Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards. The memoir also won the The National Book Tokens Nonfiction Book of the Year award.

Children’s writers Benji Bennett and Derek Landy, newcomer Niamh Boyce, crime writer Louise Philips, sports writer David Walsh, cookery writer Darina Allen, short story writer Billy O’ Callaghan and Fintan O’Toole, Roddy Doyle and Paul Howard were also honoured at the gala ceremony held in Dublin. The Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award for his contribution to Irish literature was presented to John Banville. RTÉ Television will be broadcasting the highlights of the Awards on RTÉ One at 10.55pm, Saturday 30th November. This programme will showcase one of the biggest celebrations of Irish writing with many of Ireland’s most celebrated and loved authors in attendance. For further details see

The John Murray Show Listeners’ Choice Award - Staring at Lakes by Michael Harding
Novel of the Year - The Guts by Roddy Doyle
Best Irish-published Book of the Year - A History Of Ireland in 100 Objects by Fintan O’Toole
Popular Fiction Book of the Year - Downturn Abbey by Ross O’Carroll Kelly
Crime Fiction Book of the Year - Doll’s House by Louise Philips
Newcomer of the Year - The Herbalist by Niamh Boyce
Children’s Book of the Year Jnr. - When You Were Born by Benji Bennett
Children’s Book of the Year Snr - Skulduggery Pleasant: Last Stand of Dead Men by Derek Landy
Sports Book of the Year - Seven Deadly Sins by David Walsh
Cookbook of the Year - 30 Years at Ballymaloe by Darina Allen.

No comments: