Tuesday 19 May 2015

Children’s Books Ireland Book of the Year Award Winners

Oliver Jeffers has won the 25th CBI Book of the Year Award and is the third author ever to win both the Book of the Year Award and the Children’s Choice award for his title Once Upon an Alphabet.

This beautiful picture book presents twenty-six original and innovative stories about the letters of the alphabet, cleverly combining text and line drawings.

Each letter of the alphabet is introduced with its own story, each one weaving in and out of one another, asking the reader to make connections and cross-references. Although this is an alphabet book, it’s not just for the very young; the cleverly constructed stories will strike a chord with children of all ages.

The Honour Award for Illustration went to Chris Haughton for Shh! We have A Plan. The Honour Award for Fiction went to Áine Ní Ghlinn for Daideo. Gabriel Rosenstock and Brian Fitzgerald picked up the Judge’s Special Award for Haiku Más é do thoil é! and the Eilís Dillon Award for a first children’s book went to Louise O’Neill for Only Ever Yours.

Elaina Ryan, Director of CBI, said: "The CBI Awards are a unique opportunity not only to honour the very best in Irish writing and illustration, but to give young people a voice through the Children’s Choice Award. It is a real delight to see even more young readers than last year taking part in our shadowing scheme and enjoying the excellent and diverse books on this year’s shortlist".

No comments: