Wednesday, 17 November 2010

Books on Clare Hurling longlisted for William Hill Irish Sports Book of the Year Award

The Club by Christy O’ConnorBooks by two well-known Clare hurlers are among the 25 books that have been longlisted for this year’s William Hill Irish Sports Book of the Year award. Tony Griffin tells his remarkable story and his gruelling charity cycle across Canada in Screaming at the Sky. It is a story of courage, of love and loss, and of battles won and lost both on and off the field. The Club by Christy O’Connor followed Clare club side St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield for a season in 2009 as they looked to re-establish themselves as a force in Clare hurling. From player infighting to player-management stand-offs, team-bonding and on-pitch battles, The Club is a chronicle of the 2009 season told with unflinching honesty. Other titles shortlisted this year include autobiographies by John Giles, Bernard Dunne and Darragh O’Se along with stories about Lansdowne Road, Waterford Hurling and some of Ireland’s top jockeys and race horses. The public have a chance to vote for the winner of the award from a list which includes some of the biggest names in Irish sport. Eleven of Ireland’s top sports commentators will judge this year’s award including Eamon Dunphy, George Hook and Matt Cooper. However, the public vote will act as the twelfth judge in the award. The most voted for book by the public on will go forward as the people’s choice and will be added to the votes of the rest of the judging panel. Tony Kenny, PR Manager for William Hill Ireland, said; “The William Hill Irish Sports Book of the Year is about rewarding Ireland’s best sports writers and it is only right that the public get their opportunity to vote for their favourite. The public get a chance to take their place amongst our judging panel and give their opinion on the best Irish sports book this year.” More information on this year’s William Hill Irish Sports Book of the Year and details on how to vote for this year’s winner can be found at

William Hill Irish Sports Book of the Year - Long List:
• Lansdowne Road – Gerard Siggins & Malachy Clerkin
• Kinane – Anne Holland
• Days of Heaven – Declan Lynch
• The Agony and the Ecstasy – Damien Tiernan
• A Football Man – John Giles
• Emerald Anfield – Keith Falkiner
• The Unconquerable Keane – David Smith
• Sea the Stars – Anne Holland
• My Story – Bernard Dunne
• The Club – Christy O’Connor
• Ruby – Ruby Walsh
• Screaming at the Sky – Tony Griffin
• The World is a Ball – John Doyle
• If You Don’t Know Me, Don’t Judge Me – Dan Shanahan
• 100 GAA Greats – John Scally
• Sporting Legends of Ireland – Turtle Bunbury & James Fennell
• Darragh, My Story – Darragh Ó’Sé
• Voices from Croke Park – Sean Potts
• My Father; A Hurling Revolutionary – Conor Power
• Alright Aldo – John Aldridge & John Hynes
• Stuttgart to Saipan – Miguel Delaney
• Dail Stars – Conor McMorrow
• Brothers in Sport – Donal Keenan
• Gaffers: 50 Years of Irish Football Managers – Trevor Keane
• Method in My Madness – Richard Dunwoody

1 comment:

Turtle Bunbury said...

To read more about the award-nominated book "Sporting Legends of Ireland", including interviews with 44 of Ireland's leading sports men and women, you can visit this page: