Thursday, 25 November 2010

The Red House Children’s Book Award - The only book award judged by children

The Hunger Games by Suzanne CollinsThe Red House Children’s Book Award is the only book award voted for and judged entirely by children. It is awarded annually in the U.K. in three categories, younger children, younger readers and older readers. Any work of fiction first published in the UK in 2010 including titles previously published abroad was eligible to be shortlisted. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins is the overall winner of the award this year.

This year’s top ten nominations were:

Younger Children:
A Very Strange Creature by Ronda Armitage & Layn Marlow
Crunch Munch Dinosaur Lunch! by Paul Bright & Mike Terry
The Baby Dragon-Tamer by Jan Fearnley
Bottoms Up! by Jeanne Willis & Adam Stower

Younger Readers:
Angel Cake by Cathy Cassidy
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Last Straw by Jeff Kinney
Mondays are Murder by Tanya Landman

Older Readers:
Ausländer by Paul Dowswell
Love, Aubrey by Suzanne LaFleur
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The winners are;
Bottoms Up! (in the Younger Childrens Category)
Mondays are Murder (in the Younger Readers Category and)
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (in the Older Readers Category)

The Overall Winner of the 2010 Children’s Book Award is
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.

All titles are available from branches of Clare County Library.

1 comment:

CoffeeShopBloggers said...

I love how this award is from kids only! They have great taste!

pragmatic mom of coffeeshopbloggers