Tuesday, 11 February 2014

A Song of Ice and Fire (A Game of Thrones)

A Song of Ice and Fire is a series of epic fantasy novels set in an age of knights and chivalry by American novelist George R.R. Martin. A Game of Thrones the first volume of the series was published in 1996. Initially a word of mouth success, later books in the series featured on the New York Times bestseller lists and HBO’s 2011 television adaptation of A Game of Thrones, proved a huge sales boost to all books in the series. The books have been translated into more than 20 languages and have sold over 25 million copies worldwide. Time magazine has called Martin “the American Tolkien”.

The books in the series are
1. A Game of Thrones
2. A Clash of Kings
3. A Storm of Swords Part 1: Steel and Snow Part 2: Blood and Gold
4. A Feast for Crows
5. A Dance with Dragons Part 1: Dreams and Dust Part 2: After the Feast

Martin is currently working on the 6th book in the series entitled The Winds of Winter. The series will conclude with A Dream of Spring. A Game of Thrones and A Clash of Kings are available as ebooks through the library website. The Game of Thrones TV series is also available to borrow on DVD.

No comments: