Wednesday 26 March 2014

Science Book Awards

A book about the hunt for the elusive Higgs Boson was winner of the 2013 Royal Society Winton Prize. This prestigious prize celebrates outstanding popular science books from around the world and is open to authors of science books written for a non-specialist audience. Sean Carroll’s The Particle at the End of the Universe was described by judges as an 'important, enduring piece of literature’.

The books shortlisted for the 2013 award were:

Bird Sense: What it’s Like to be a Bird by Tim Birkhead
The Particle at the End of the Universe by Sean Carroll
Cells to Civilizations: Principles of Change that Shape Life by Enrico Coen
Pieces of Light: the New Science of Memory by Charles Fernyhough
The Book of Barely Imagined Beings: a 21st Century Bestiary by Caspar Henderson
Ocean of Life: How our Seas are Changing by Callum Roberts

Previous winners of this prize have included Stephen Hawking and Bill Bryson.

No comments: