Monday, 15 June 2009

Samuel Johnson shortlist 2009

Lords of Finance: 1929, The Great Depression - and the Bankers Who Broke the World by Liaquat AhamedThe shortlist for this year's BBC Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction was announced on May 22nd. The prize, now in its 11th year, is billed as "the richest non-fiction prize in the UK". However, due to the credit crunch, the prize money, which was previously worth £30,000 to the winner, has dropped to £20,000. The winner will be announced on 30th June on a 50-minute special of The Culture Show.
The shortlisted books are:
Lords of Finance: the bankers who broke the world by Liaquat Ahamed
Bad Science by Ben Goldacre
The Lost City of Z by David Grann
Leviathan by Philip Hoare
The Age of Wonder: How the Romantic Generation Discovered the Beauty and Terror of Science by Richard Holmes
Quantum: Einstein, Bohr and the Great Debate about the Nature of Reality by Manjit Kumar

No comments: