Tuesday, 4 August 2009

Man Booker Prize Longlist announced

Me CheetaThe 2009 Man Booker Prize longlist was announced on the 28th of July.Three Irish authors are included this year. They are Ed O’Loughlin for his novel Not Untrue & Not Unkind, Colm Toibin for Brooklyn and William Trevor for Love and Summer. Books by both Toibin and Trevor have been previously nominated for the Man Booker Prize. Ed O’Loughlin’s Not Untrue & Not Unkind is his debut novel. The chair of judges, James Naughtie, said on the announcement of this year’s longlist:
"The five Man Booker judges have settled on thirteen novels as the longlist for this year's prize. We believe it to be one of the strongest lists in recent memory, with two former winners, four past-shortlisted writers, three first-time novelists and a span of styles and themes that make this an outstandingly rich fictional mix.”
The complete longlist is:
The Children's Book by AS Byatt
Summertime by JM Coetzee
The Quickening Maze by Adam Foulds
How to Paint a Dead Man by Sarah Hall
The Wilderness by Sarah Harvey
Me Cheeta by James Lever
Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel
The Glass Room by Simon Mawer
Not Untrue & Not Unkind by Ed O'Loughlin
Heliopolis by James Scudamore
Brooklyn by Colm Toibin
Love & Summer by William Trevor
The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters
The winner will be announced on the 6th of October 2009.

No comments: