Friday 9 October 2009

Booker Prize Winner

Wolf HallHilary Mantel has been named the winner of the £50,000 2009 Man Booker Prize for Fiction for her historical novel Wolf Hall. Wolf Hall has been the bookmakers' favourite since the longlist was announced in July 2009. A.S. Byatt, J.M. Coetzee, Adam Foulds, Simon Mawer and Sarah Waters were all shortlisted for this year's prize. Wolf Hall is set in the 1520s and tells the story of Thomas Cromwell's rise to prominence in the Tudor court. Hilary Mantel has been praised by critics for writing “a rich, absorbingly readable historical novel; she has made a significant shift in the way any of her readers interested in English history will henceforward think about Thomas Cromwell.” Hilary Mantel spent five years writing Wolf Hall and she is currently working on a sequel. Over and above her prize of £50,000, she may expect a huge increase in sales and recognition worldwide. See

No comments: