Friday, 16 October 2009

USA National Book Awards 2009

Let the Great World SpinIrish writer Colum McCann’s latest novel, Let the Great World Spin, has been shortlisted for the fiction prize in this year’s National Book Awards in the US. The Dubliner’s novel is one of five in the fiction category in the shortlist announced yesterday. The other shortlisted works of fiction are: American Salvage by Bonnie Jo Campbell, In Other Rooms, Other Wonders by Daniyal Mueenuddin, Lark and Termite by Jayne Anne Phillips and Far North by Marcel Theroux. The Winner will receive $10,000 and a bronze statue. To be eligible for the 2009 National Book Award, a book must have been published in the United States between December 1, 2008 and November 30, 2009 and must have been written by a United States citizen. This year the Foundation will also celebrate its six-decade history of honoring great books by highlighting the 77 Fiction books that received the National Book Award from 1950 to 2008. The Best of the National Book Awards Fiction included a daily blog page on each one of the 77 Winning books in Fiction ( and the opportunity for the public to vote online for their favorite National Book Award Winning Fiction book from a short-list that includes:
John Cheever The Stories of John Cheever (National Book Award, 1981)
Ralph Ellison Invisible Man (1953)
William Faulkner Collected Stories (1951)
Flannery O'Connor The Complete Stories (1972)
Thomas Pynchon Gravity's Rainbow (1974)
Eudora Welty The Collected Stories of Eudora Welty (1983)

For more information about the Finalists as well as National Book Awards Week events, visit

No comments: